Donna Lee Saxophone Quartet (Main)

Donna Lee Saxophone Quartet

Donna Lee Saxophone Quartet is founded in 1999 by Zdenko Ivanušić and Andrej Henigman. Current members of the quartet are Zdenko Ivanušić /ss, as/; Andrej Henigman /as/; Vanja Ileković /ts/; Aleš Suša /baritone/. Since its founding, the DLSQ has appeared on concert stages, on radio and on television.

The DLSQ performs arrangements of jazz and latin standards, though the arrangements and originals of the 29th Street Saxophone Quartet and World Saxophone Quartet can also be found on its repertoire. The quartet aims toward recognizable sound through original compositions composed by Zdenko Ivanušić.

In addition to being a well-trained instrumentalist, each member has a great flexibility and improvisational skills so needed in jazz and contemporary classical music. The DLSQ is an ensemble that creates robust sound with blowing approach, but can be lyrical with an airy sound in ballads. Donna Lee Saxophone Quartet released two albums Four Odd (2005) and Mellow (2008) on Zivaldo Records and singles Christmas Medleys, Conchology